Choosing the right school – to apply for headship.

This is a very interesting and insightful post written by a Head who has recently been appointed. There’s lots in here for governors too.

Mr Lock's Weblog

I’m aware that people who are aiming for headship will be about to see a larger number of headship posts advertised at this time of year.

A number of people have asked me about the process of a Headship application. The first aspect I considered in my applications is getting the right school for me. I should say at the outset that this is secondary-focussed. I don’t know the extent to which it’s transferable to primary.

Getting the right school:

When I was applying, I was aware that I would be responsible for shaping the vision and direction of a large institution were I to get a post. It would be crazy not to ensure this was a direction I support and indeed am driven to ensure we do the best way possible. So getting the right school was absolutely crucial for me. And there are practical considerations that one might need to…

View original post 2,040 more words

Leave a Reply

